Lost Wand

Writer’s thought for the week: for many, writing is a hobby. For a writer, one needs other activities for hobbies, and for this writer, that would be baking. I bring something yummy to each Ink Slingers Guild meeting to have with tea, and last time I brought carrot cake cupcakes with my own special cream cheese icing. According to Lisa, it would be fine if I just brought the icing, and forget the rest of it 🙂

That thought was probably inspired by my second writing exercise from the meeting:

Ghastly, tea, crunch

“So, how did it go?” Tripsy asked when Nella staggered through the door.
“Uh, ghastly,” the little pixie groaned. “And the worst part is that I have to
go back next week.”
“Whatever for?” Tripsy asked.
Nella looked sheepish. “Well, she asked me again, and I just couldn’t say no.
What?”
Tripsy gave her a stern look. “You know she’ll just keep asking. You have to
learn to say no.”
“But she’s so…” Nella fluttered her glimmering wings as she searched for the
right phrase. “Large.”
“And what does that have to do with anything?” Tripsy tilted her head curiously.
“She looks like she could eat me in two bites, her teeth just crunching right
through my bones, and then pick my wings out of her teeth with a sword,” Nella
protested. “I can’t just say no!”
“Well, then, I guess you’re having tea every week with Mrs. Freston,” Tripsy
shrugged and turned back to the book she had been reading. A gasp made her
glance up, and then she was on her feet, hurrying to her friend, who had turned
white and staring, her hand fluttering inarticulately. “What’s wrong?”
Nella turned glassy eyes to her. “I left my wand.”
________________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed that as much as Lisa enjoyed my icing!!

I’d love to hear what your favorite yummies are to read (or eat)! Let me know in the comments!

❤ ❤ DragonBeck

Leave a Reply

